About our city-state

Leamouth, the officially the Free City of Leamouth, is a self-declared independent city-state, commonly referred to as a micronation by external observers. Claiming the two small peninsulas of Leamouth, it shares its only land border with the United Kingdom, enclaved within the British capital of London. It straddles on the west side of the confluence of the Bow Creek stretch of the River Lea and the River Thames. Leamouth is colloquially referred to as the "Little Brasília", attributed by its sustainable architecture buildings and recent urban regeneration plans. The sovereign city-state is a unitary parliamentary republic with an executive lord mayoralty. The Lord Mayor is both the head of state and head of government, who heads the Leamouth City-State Council which serves as the municipal and national legislature.

The city-state was established on 26 March 2020, as a provisional government, following the Proclamation of Leamouth. The Leamouth Provisional Council initially sought recognition as an independent country, but Leamouth's independence received no recognition from any sovereign nation. The constitution soon was adopted on 8 April 2020, in which the city-state was named "Leamouth", a republic with an executive lord mayor as head of state and head of government.

Leamouth is a multicultural society encompassing a wide variety of cultures, languages, and religions. It is considered to be one of the most economically and socially developed micronations in the world. Leamothians enjoy a high standard of living and the city-state ranks highly in some metrics of national performance, including education, health care, protection of civil liberties, democratic governance, LGBT equality, prosperity, and human development. Nevertheless, it ranks as having the lowest perceived level of corruption in the world. The city-state is one of the few in world never to have had a coup d'état, and regular elections have been held since its establishment.

Leamouth is one of only four countries in the world to be completely surrounded by another country (the others being Vatican City, also surrounded by Italy, and Lesotho, surrounded by South Africa). It is believed to be the smallest country in the world, before Vatican City and Monaco.

Create Your Own Website With Webador